Teen Will Drive Soon
It seems like a “right of passage” from childhood into becoming an adult. Your little boy or girl turns 17 and MUST have a car because everyone in school has one. Teens crave the freedom away from Mom and Dad, acceptance by their peers and the ability to show off (with the right vehicle of course!).
Teen Driving Statistics
Motor vehicle crashes is the leading cause of teenage related deaths in the United States. An average of 6,000 teens die and another 300,000 are injured annually across the nation. In New Jersey, a teen will crash their car every nine minutes. Teens crash for many reasons, but the most common are inattention, speeding, impaired driving, distraction and inexperience. In addition, seat belt use among teens is the lowest of any age group on the road.
In New Jersey, teens (17 to 20 years of age) represent just six percent of the population, but are involved in 13 percent of the crashes. In 2007, there were 59,702 teen crashes in the state. While many of the crashes were not life threatening, 48 teen drivers and 19 teen passengers driven by teens died in motor vehicle crashes in 2006, a six percent increase over the previous year.
New Jersey is one of many states that have enacted Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws.
Graduated driver licensing is designed to introduce teenage drivers to driving in stages, over an extended period of time, in an environment that minimizes risk. A teen typically progresses through a permit phase, where he or she practices with supervision, to a provisional or probationary phase. This allows for independent driving with restrictions. Following successful completion of this phase, a teen is granted full driving privileges. The key here to educating the young driver is practice. As parents or guardians of the new teen driver, we should spend as much time as possible helping the newly licensed driver to practice their new skills behind the wheel. Many crashes among teens occur because of failure to observe traffic signals. To this end, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (NJMVC) offers a Parent's Guide to Teaching Teens Safe Driving.
Drivers holding a GDL license have the following restrictions placed upon them:
- May not drive between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.
- May not have more than 1 friend in the car
- May not use a cell phone (including hands-free), or any other hand-held electronic device
- Driver + ALL passengers must wear seatbelts
Once the new driver has completed twelve months of driving, they can apply and receive a standard New Jersey driver’s license with no restrictions. The latest addition to the GDL License is all drivers must display a GDL identifier on the vehicle. Failure to display the identifier results in a $100 fine.
New Jersey Fraud Laws & Auto Insurance
Insurance statistics show that since a younger driver is 2.5 times more likely to have an accident than a typical adult driver, there will be a higher premium charged when the teenage driver is added to the parents policy.
There is a temptation then to “forget” to add the new driver to the auto policy or not list the new driver on your renewal questionnaire in order to save money even though the child is driving Mom or Dad’s car. We strongly caution you against this practice. The state of New Jersey enacted certain fraud laws in this area that will allow an insurance company to deny a claim in the event the driver is an undisclosed household operator. In addition, the Attorney General has the ability to fine the policy holder up to $5,000.
Insurance-Friendly Cars for Teens
The decision is made. You want to buy your son or daughter their first car. It will be in your name and properly added to your policy. But what to buy? You know it's not only the car model you have to consider. You also have to think about the impact the car will have on your auto insurance.
Insurance companies surcharge teenage drivers in three areas:
- Comprehensive (fire, theft, vandalism)
- Collision (damage caused to the vehicle in an accident)
If you choose a vehicle that may be older, and does not require comprehensive or collision (a lower value vehicle) the premium will be considerably less than a newer one which will require full coverage.
Because we represent many different companies, you have more choices to help make the right decision when buying that first car for your teenager. Call us today at 877-329-3261 for a free policy review or request a free quote below.